Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events of Food & Drink in Japan.
Events

Free Open-air Events At Hibiya Festival

The second edition of the festival will showcase theater performances, musicals, dances, and even opera! All for free!

Apr 26, Fri 〜 May 06, Mon
Hibiya Step Square

Kingdom Hearts III's Official Concert From April 2019!

From January 29th at Square Enix' e-store, there is a raffle for the Kingdom Hearts III concert tickets!

Apr 27, Sat 〜 Apr 28, Sun

Tokyo Gay Pride Week! From April 28th to May 5th 2019!

Tokyo Gay Pride is a weeklong celebration held in Tokyo from April 28th to May 6th. The goal of the event is to promote a society where people feel free to be themselves, regardless of sexual orientation and gender identity. Let's have a fun pride week!

Apr 27, Sat 〜 May 05, Sun

Kurayami Matsuri in Fuchu, the Breathtaking "Darkness Festival"

Kurayami Matsuri is one of the oldest festivals in Tokyo, held for seven days from April 30th to May 6th. The main events are celebrated at night, making it an other-worldly experience.

Apr 30, Tue 〜 May 05, Sun
Okunitama Shrine

Kamogawa Odori: A Rare Chance To See Real Geishas Performing A Traditional Play

Kamogawa Odori is a sure sign that spring has arrived in Kyoto. It is one of the major Geisha Odori (traditional dance) event of the old capital. If you are in Kyoto in May, consider attending the Kamogawa Odori to get a rare glimpse of true geisha dance performances.

May 01, Wed 〜 May 24, Fri

Join the Hataka Dontaku Festival in Fukuoka

Hataka Dontaku is one of the most traditional festivals in Japan, being celebrated for over 800 years. Every year, during Golden Week, it gathers nearly 2 million people in Fukuoka.

May 03, Fri 〜 May 04, Sat
Fukuoka

Kanda Matsuri: How To Party Edo Style!

Kando Matsuri is one of the great three shrine festivals in Japan dating back to the samurai era. If you are in Japan in May, this is a must-go event!

May 09, Thu 〜 May 15, Wed

Aoi Matsuri: Stunning Festival Of Kyoto From The Heian Era!

If you love the traditional, ancient side of Japan, you will love this festival of the former capital Kyoto!

May 15, Wed 〜 May 15, Wed
Kyoto

Tokyo's Sanja Matsuri 2019: Shinto Floats, Geishas and Yakuzas!

One of Tokyo's most interesting traditional festival has to be the Sanja Matsuri. It is held annually in May on the grounds of the Sensoji Temple. You'll see beautiful ornated floats, geishas, and even shirtless yakuza!

May 17, Fri 〜 May 20, Mon

Enjoy the Chill Vibes of Okinawa Matsuri 2019

In May, Tokyo will host the Okinawa Matsuri, a festival celebrating the food, music, and art from Okinawa. Come get the good vibes!

May 18, Sat 〜 May 19, Sun
Yoyogi Park

Yosakoi Soran Festival In Sapporo: Dance Like... A Northern Fisherman?

Kick off the Japanese summer season with one of the most interesting dance festivals in Japan: the Sapporo Yosakoi Soran Festival! Dances are a modern adaptation of the traditional Awa Odori and the moves mimic fishermen hauling their catch. How awesome is that!

Jun 06, Thu 〜 Jun 10, Mon
Sapporo

Sanno Matsuri 2019: One of the Tokyo's Three Big Festivals!

Sanno Matsuri is one of the three major festivals in Tokyo and in Japan. It is a biannual festival that happens alternately with Kanda Matsuri. Check out this article for more information on Sanno Matsuri!

Jun 06, Thu 〜 Jun 16, Sun
Tokyo

Hokkaido Shrine Festival: Celebrate The Arrival Of Summer At This Traditional Matsuri In Sapporo

A nice way to enjoy Japan in June is by going to the Hokkaido Shrine Festival in Sapporo. You'll see an amazing procession of portable shrines, you'll hear traditional and modern music, you'll have the chance to try out some of the best festival foods there is, and you'll see plenty of people dressed in traditional summer kimonos!

Jun 14, Fri 〜 Jun 16, Sun
Sapporo

Gion Matsuri 2019: Kyoto's Traditional Summer Festival!

One of the most popular, traditional and famous festivals in Japan is called Gion Matsuri, which is a summer festival held in Kyoto where they parade with Japanese traditional float called Yamaboko. Let's figure out more together!

Jul 01, Mon 〜 Jul 31, Wed

2019 Guide to Fireworks Festivals in Japan!

Fireworks are really huge in Japan, especially during summer. It is one of the seasonal events, and people go watch fireworks with their friends and family. If you are in Japan during summer, visit the following fireworks festivals!

Jul 24, Wed 〜 Oct 06, Sun

Fuji Rock Festival 2019: The Largest Outdoor Music Festival In Japan!

Fuji Rock Festival is the largest outdoor music festival in Japan, and it is annually held in the Naeba Ski Resort, which is located in Niigata. It is known as the world's cleanest festival as they promote in protecting the environment and bringing music and the environment together. Each year, more than 200 Japanese and international musicians perform throughout the 3 days, so it is a big event that you should definitely check out!

Jul 26, Fri 〜 Jul 28, Sun
Niigata

Trending Posts

1

Biting Into a Pound of Steak! All the Meat You Can Dream of at Nikubaru Gaburi in Shibuya, Tokyo

2

Ginza Bairin - Ginza, Tokyo : Heavenly, Traditional Katsudon That You Need To Try!

3

Love it or Hate it: How to Eat Natto!

4

Ryujinmaru: Warayaki (Straw Fire Cooking) Izakaya In Okachimachi, Tokyo!

Ueno
5

A Gigantic Piece of Fried Pork Over A Satisfying Bowl of Ramen At Shinkouyo in Shinjuku, Tokyo!

More Trending Posts

Recommended For You!

1

Roll Your Own Sushi At Nonono In Osaka!

Foods hunter
2

Ton Shabu Hide: Delectable Shabu Shabu In Kyoto!

favy
3

Kobe Plaisir Ginza: Marvellous Kobe Beef Restaurant In Tokyo

favy
4

Order Sake from a Vending Machine at Tokyo Shouten in Ryogoku, Tokyo

favy
5

Ton Shabu Hide: Delectable Shabu Shabu In Kyoto!

favy

Featured Posts

Halal Restaurants In Japan!

Things to do in Japan in all regions!

Exploring Yokocho Alleys: a Guide to the Back Streets!

More Features

Events

Vintage Sake Renaissance 2019

Apr 21, Sun ~

Craft Sake Week 2019 at Roppongi Hills

Apr 19, Fri ~ Apr 29, Mon

Breathtaking Views at Fuji Shiba-Sakura Festival

Apr 13, Sat ~ May 26, Sun

Starbucks' Strawberry Frappuccino Is Here!

Apr 11, Thu ~ May 14, Tue

Gion Tsujiri Matcha Donuts Are Back At Mister Donut!

Apr 04, Thu ~ Jun 15, Sat

Trending Tags